Express Entry

Express Entry is a program used to manage applications of the following three economic immigration programs

  • Federal Skilled Worker Program
  • Federal Skilled Trades Class
  • Canadian Experience Class

The first step for Express Entry is to complete an online Express Entry profile.  The profile will help the applicant outline their:

  • Skills
  • Work experience
  • Language ability
  • Education

Once it is determined that the applicant is eligible under one of the three aforementioned immigration programs, the will be added to a pool of candidates.  After being accepted to the pool of candidates, the highest ranking candidates, based on their points received will be invited to apply for permanent residence in Canada.

Points are received for information provided in their profile. Points are rewarded for:

  • a job offer
  • a nomination from a province or territory
  • skills and experience factors

while, additional points are provided for a job offer supported by a Labour Market Impact Assessment (LMIA)

Canadian Experience Class

The Canadian Experience Class (CEC) is for individuals currently working inside of Canada on a Temporary Foreign Worker Permit.  Temporary Foreign Workers are ideal candidates to obtain Permanent Residence because they have already become immersed in Canadian society and have already established themselves both, in their careers and their community.

In order to be eligible for the Canadian Experience Class (CEC) an applicant must meet the following criteria:


  • Have obtained at least one year of skilled, professional or technical work experience in Canada within 36 months of the application date
  • Meet or surpass a Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) of 5 (“initial intermediate”) or 7 (“adequate intermediate proficiency”), depending on the level of the job


An applicant is able to remain in Canada throughout the application process however, the Canadian Experience Class (CEC) is also open to individuals currently not residing in Canada as long as, they meet the aforementioned criteria.

The Canadian Experience Class (CEC) is the most popular option for International Students as it provides the simplest and quickest route towards achieving Permanent Residency.

Federal Skilled Worker Program

The Federal Skilled Worker Program is for individuals who are deemed to work or have worked in an occupation deemed “skilled”.  Ordinarily, a Federal Skilled Worker Program application process is under six months.  The Federal Skilled Worker Program is essentially for individuals who can obtain a job which can allow the individual economical stability.  In order to be eligible for the Federal Skilled Worker Program, an individual mus have:

Worked at least on year of continuous full time work (30 hours/week) or an equal amount of part-time work (1,560 total hours)

The work must have been paid, volunteer work and unpaid internships do not count

All house must be registered at the same job

The hours must have been completed within the past 10 years

The skill type must be either; 0 or skill levels A or B according to the 2011 National Occupational Classification (NOC).

Additionally, a minimum of a Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) 7 is required to be eligible for the Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) 7 and a language test approved by Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) is also required.  For education, a Canadian secondary  or post-secondary certificate, diploma or degree, OR a completed foreign credential, and an Educational Credential Assessment (ECA) report from an agency approved by CIC.

Federal Skilled Trades Class

For individuals attempting to become permanent residents based on being qualified for a skilled trade, the Federal Skilled Trades Program is the primary option. To be eligible for the Federal Skilled Trades Program a minimum of CLB 5 for speaking and listening and CLB 4 for reading and writing must be met.  Additionally, at least two years of full-time work is required (or equal amount of part-time hours), within the past five years, in the past five years.  Also, an offer of full-time employment is requires for a minimum of on year unless a a certificate of qualification is awarded by a Canadian  provincial or territorial authority

Currently the following NOC are eligible for the Federal Skilled Trades Program

  • Major Group 72, industrial, electrical and construction trades,
  • Major Group 73, maintenance and equipment operation trades,
  • Major Group 82, supervisors and technical jobs in natural resources, agriculture and related production,
  • Major Group 92, processing, manufacturing and utilities supervisors and central control operators,
  • Minor Group 632, chefs and cooks, and
  • Minor Group 633, butchers and bakers.